Skip to main content
Richard W. Lyman Award Honoring Faculty In Service to Alumni

Established in 1983 in honor of President Emeritus Richard W. Lyman, the yearly Richard W. Lyman Award recognizes one outstanding faculty member who generously donates time to alumni, goes beyond the expectations of university appointments and embodies the Stanford Alumni Association mission.

Faculty in Service to Alumni

2023 Award Winner

Elaine Treharne

The Roberta Bowman Denning Professor of Humanities, professor of English, and professor, by courtesy, of German studies and of comparative literature.

“Our graduates gravitate towards our alumni education offerings for a host of reasons. At the core, however, is often a desire to revisit the sheer beauty and joy of knowledge discovery. Elaine Treharne, through her fascinating Welsh background, deep academic knowledge, and expert use of artifacts, has been a truly transformational guide for our alumni for many years. And her willingness to stay engaged with legions of alumni long after they have been "in class" is nothing short of miraculous. We are beyond fortunate to have Elaine on board and celebrate this well-deserved recognition.”

— Howard Wolf, ’80, Vice President for Alumni Affairs, Stanford University, President, Stanford Alumni Association

Past Winners