Skip to content
In alumni we trust - Stanford Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing board of Stanford University. Together, trustees set the direction of the university, ensure Stanford's continued well-being and work to sustain its foundation of excellence.

Trustee Selection

Trustees for the university are identified through two separate channels. The majority are appointed through an internal Board of Trustees process. The second path to trusteeship offers Stanford alumni the opportunity to nominate themselves for consideration by an independent group of alumni, the Alumni Committee on Trustee Nominations (ACTN). The ACTN process is managed by the Stanford Alumni Association. The ACTN identifies four candidates for election to six-year terms on the Board of Trustees. Both processes are extremely competitive.

The ACTN application period is closed. Applications for the next cycle will be accepted in late 2022.

Read more about the latest ACTN-selected trustees

Alumni Committee on Trustee Nominations (ACTN)

Comprised of nine alumni with a broad range of backgrounds and experiences, the ACTN seeks to bring new voices and perspectives to the Board of Trustees. The committee oversees the entire nomination process which includes a thorough review of candidate applications, alumni volunteer service records and philanthropic histories, reference checking, and interviews, before presenting final recommendations to the Board of Trustees. The ACTN embraces diversity broadly defined.


Eligible candidates must be:

  • Alumni of Stanford University (defined as having a degree and/or having completed a minimum of three or more quarters in a degree-granting program)
  • Sixty-nine years of age or younger when the term commences
Current Stanford faculty, staff or students, are not eligible

See the official eligibility rules


To be considered a qualified candidate for the Board of Trustees via the ACTN process, the applicant must have demonstrated:

  • A strong commitment to the university including a substantial and sustained record of Stanford volunteer service
  • A record of outstanding leadership, including remarkable professional achievement and/or civic involvement
  • Dedication to furthering the work of the university
  • Proven commitment to Stanford through ongoing financial support and a willingness to participate in fundraising efforts
  • Previous professional and/or civic board and fiduciary experience
  • Understanding of complex business and financial transactions
  • Willingness to physically attend regular board and committee meetings (both on and off campus)
Additional criteria including diversity and area of expertise will also be considered by ACTN in order to complement and strengthen the composition of the current board.

Learn more about the Board of Trustees >>


See our FAQ
or email us