Skip to content

2018 Richard W. Lyman Award Winner

Tina Seelig, PhD ’85

Professor of the practice in management science and engineering and faculty director of the Stanford Technology Ventures Program

Stanford+Connects, faculty speaker events, Sierra Camp, STARS, Leading Matters, and Classes Without Quizzes are just some of the ways Tina has contributed to the SAA mission of reaching, serving, and engaging all alumni. She brings her entrepreneurial spirit with her in everything she does, which led her to participate in the first ever SAA career event and to build Stanford in the Wild from a creative writing retreat at Sierra Camp into a interdisciplinary celebration of the Stanford experience, bringing alumni, faculty, and students together for a long weekend of in-depth learning and collaboration.

Entrepreneurship is one of the most requested topics by clubs looking for faculty speakers, and with a new TED Talk and 17 published books, Tina’s name is always at the top of the list. On top of her rave reviews, with grace and flexibility, she never tires, or at least never lets it show, and her workshop participants always depart more creative for having had the experience.

Tina teaches at the Hasso Plattner Institute of Design ( and she leads three fellowships in creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship, including The Mayfield Fellows Program, at the School of Engineering. A Mayfield alumnae said, “One of the best things is [her] enthusiasm, [her] unbridled passion for creativity and for fostering a really, really warm and positive atmosphere.”

The Little Risks You Can Take to Increase Your Luck, Tina’s TED Talk, has gone viral with millions of views in just a few months and outlines the process. Attending one of Tina’s workshops is guaranteed to increase your luck, if you just follow her three simple rules of increasing your risk, recognizing and appreciating the opportunities around you, and staying open to possibility.

At SAA, we feel lucky to have Tina as a faculty partner. Her energy is infectious, her ability to create community is unparalleled, and her willingness to make herself available to alumni on a personal level make her the consummate reflection and projection of the Stanford spirit.

About the Richard W. Lyman Award

The Richard W. Lyman Award was established in 1983 in President Emeritus Richard W. Lyman's honor. The Award recognizes one outstanding faculty member for extraordinary service to the alumni community and Stanford Alumni Association programs. Recipients generously donate time to alumni, go beyond the expectations of University appointments and embody the mission of Stanford Alumni Association.

Past Winners

Abbas Milani
Hamid and Christina Moghadam Director of Iranian Studies, a co-director of the Iran Democracy Project and a research fellow at the Hoover Institution

James A. Fox
Director of the Center for Latin American Studies, Associate Professor of Anthropological Sciences and, by courtesy, of Spanish and Portuguese

Jeffrey R. Koseff
The Perry L. McCarty Director of the Woods Institute for the Environment at Stanford University, The Michael Forman University Fellow in Undergraduate Education and The William Alden Campbell and Martha Campbell Professor of Civic and Environmental Engineering

Margot Gerritsen
Associate professor of energy resources engineering, and director of the Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering at Stanford

Larry Diamond
Senior fellow at the Hoover Institution and the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and director of the Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law. He is also the Peter E. Haas Faculty co-director of the Haas Center for Public Service at Stanford.

Hank Greely
Deane F. and Kate Edelman Johnson Professor of Law

Lyman P. Van Slyke
Professor of History, Emeritus

See all »