Skip to content

2014 Richard W. Lyman Award Winner

Margot Gerritsen

Margot Gerritsen, PhD '97, associate professor of energy resources engineering, and director of the Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering at Stanford

For the last ten years, Margot has truly embraced the mission of the Stanford Alumni Association. She participated in a number of programs helping SAA reach, serve, and engage alumni around the globe. Margot led trips with the Travel Study Program to New Zealand and Tanzania, hosted the discussion on Stuart Clark's The Sun Kings for Stanford Book Salon, led campers through discussions at Stanford Sierra Camp, and most recently led conversations around energy with alumni at Stanford+Connects Seattle.

An expert in her field, Professor Gerritsen's research falls primarily in renewable and fossil energy production and her work focuses on understanding and simulating complicated fluid flow problems. She teaches courses on both energy-related topics (reservoir simulation, energy, and the environment) and mathematics for engineers and scientists, and creates a lively atmosphere when discussing complex research.

Alumni on her New Zealand Travel/Study trip shared, "Margot was outstanding; we learned so much from her vast areas of interest and expertise," and "[Her] instinctive choice of unique topics for lectures was stuffed with fascinating, entertaining, and scintillating information. We were transfixed; gathering in new information that educated her eager listeners. She is an impressive educator as well as a genuinely loveable individual."

Cindy Pearson, director of Alumni Communities at SAA shared that 'Margot's sparkly personality and deep knowledge of her field make her an engaging and lively speaker. Alumni love interacting with her and Q&A sessions are always enlightening."

The Stanford Alumni Association presents Margot with the 2014 Richard W. Lyman Award at the annual event, "A Toast to Faculty and Lyman Award" on January 20, 2015 at the Frances C. Arrillaga Alumni Center for her outstanding service to the Stanford Alumni Association.

About the Richard W. Lyman Award

The Richard W. Lyman Award was established in 1983 in President Emeritus Richard W. Lyman's honor. The Award recognizes one outstanding faculty member for extraordinary service to the alumni community and Stanford Alumni Association programs. Recipients generously donate time to alumni, go beyond the expectations of University appointments and embody the mission of Stanford Alumni Association.

The award provides funds for additions to the permanent collections of the Stanford University Libraries in areas of special interest to the recipient and is presented at the annual faculty appreciation event at "A Toast to Faculty and Lyman Award."

Past Winners

Larry Diamond
Senior fellow at the Hoover Institution and the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and director of the Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law. He is also the Peter E. Haas Faculty co-director of the Haas Center for Public Service at Stanford.

Hank Greely
Deane F. and Kate Edelman Johnson Professor of Law

Lyman P. Van Slyke
Professor of History, Emeritus

Al Camarillo
Professor of History, Miriam and Peter Haas Centennial Professor in Public Service and Special Assistant to the Provost for Faculty Diversity

Rob Dunbar
W.M. Keck Professor in the School of Earth Sciences, Victoria P. and Roger W. Sant Director of the Earth Systems Program and senior fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

See all »