Skip to content

CANCELLED: 2020 Crew Classic

Event Details

Sun, April 05, 2020
07:10AM - 03:00PM
Crown Point Shores
3699 Crown Point Dr., San Diego CA 92109
Map address
Registration Period:
$15 for admission to event
Tim Lacey, '92, MS '93



Yet another collegiate rowing spring racing season will kick off here with the San Diego Crew Classic, the largest west coast regatta and first big weekend of sprint racing. The event at Crown Point Shores on April 4-5 will draw crews from around the country, many for their first outdoor row of the spring.

Come and see the victorious Stanford women's lightweight rowing team!

Stanford concluded the 2019 campaign by producing its fifth consecutive Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) team national championship on June 2 at the Lake Natoma course in Gold River, California.

Backed by victories from its Varsity Eight and Varsity Four, Stanford has now maintained ownership of the Camden County Board of Chosen Freeholders Trophy every year since 2015.

The Cardinal has claimed nine IRA national team championships overall, the most in the history of the sport and four more than the next closest competitor (Wisconsin).  Stanford opened the final day of competition with a fifth-place effort in the Double Grand Final, clocking in at 8:00.499. Boston University took home gold in the event with a time of 7:51.794. In the Varsity Four Grand Final, the Cardinal paced the field with a mark of 7:12.848. Runner-up Boston University (7:19.504) and Wisconsin (7:25.798) rounded out the podium finishes.  Stanford clinched its IRA team victory in the day's final race, checking in at 6:32.825 in the Varsity Eight Grand Final. Right behind the Cardinal were runner-up Princeton (6:37.335) and third-place Boston University (6:40.462).

Supported by the generosity of local alumni and parent donors, the Stanford Club of SD will host a hospitality tent on Sunday, April 5, offering complimentary light breakfast, snacks, and drink to alumni and friends throughout the day.  The admission gate opens at 6:30 AM and racing begins at 7:20 AM. Note that the major championships may be decided before 10:00 AM, so don't sleep in!  Plan to come and spend the morning with us and meet the teams!

Event Links

Event 31896